About Corsica island

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "corsica island"

Corsica is one of the 27 régions of France. The island formed a single department until it was split in 1975 into two departments: Haute-Corse (Upper Corsica) and Corse-du-Sud (Southern Corsica), with its regional capital in Ajaccio, the prefecture city of Corse-du-Sud. Bastia, the prefecture city of Haute-Corse, is the second-largest settlement in Corsica.

After being ruled by the Republic of Genoa since 1284, Corsica was briefly an independent Corsican Republic from 1755 until its conquest by France in 1769. Due to Corsica's historical ties with the Italian peninsula, the island retains to this day many elements of Italian culture. The native Corsican language, whose northern variant is closely related with Tuscan, is recognised as a regional language by the French government. The French emperor Napoléon Bonaparte was born in 1769 in the Corsican capital of Ajaccio. His ancestral home, Casa Buonaparte, is today used as a museum.

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "corsica island"Résultat de recherche d'images pour "corsica island"Résultat de recherche d'images pour "corsica island"

Corsica is a land of contrasts.

"The island of beauty" as we used to call it is a veritable mountain in the sea. "

Its highest point is Monte Cinto: it peaks at 2 710 meters and is located only 25 kilometers from the sea! The island also has many peaks rising to over 2,000 meters (Ritondu Monte, Monte Pedru, Paglia Orba, Monte d'Oro, Monte Renoso, ...).

The island has an area of 8 722 km2 of which over 1 000 km of coastline (bays, sandy beaches and rocky).
The west coast is most divided, because exposed to prevailing winds. Many deep gulfs are present on this coast. The eastern shore is more linear: there are long, flat stretch of coastline of the eastern plain.